Posted on

Bekki Makes Contact

Steve’s literary adaptation was the movie Contact based on the Karl Sagan book by the same name.

I’d seen this movie when it first came out in theaters.  It’s a good story. The despite the older technology depicted in it the movie was lush and captivating. I’m not going to lie though, I am not a big Matthew McConaughey fan.  It says something about the material that I didn’t hate him in this movie.

I am a bit of a science geek myself, and yet I struggle so much when people say (from both sides of the debate) that faith and science are mutually exclusive.  That’s not so much a position I espouse myself.  Anyway. I loved that this movie was, at its heart, a discussion of the collision between belief and science.  I loved that Ellie was on this journey from one side of the debate to the other.  She had to allow room for belief when proof was exhausted, and yet the very people who were adamant that faith was essential were the the ones who couldn’t take her testimony on faith.

Such a luscious and fascinating story.  Full of the great mysteries that are the origins of life and the universe.

I hadn’t seen this movie in a long time, and I am very glad that Steve made me watch it again.

Also, I’m not going to lie, it was very good to see David Morse play a good guy again.  He, like Sean Bean, usually gets cast in these cruel roles, because they do it so well, yet they play loving and compassionate so feelingly.

My favorite part in this film is during the opening salvo when you get further and further away from earth, and the broadcasts get fewer and fewer until there is radio silence.  So powerful an image. I love it.

 

One response to “Bekki Makes Contact

  1. stevebetz

    I’m glad you liked it (again)! It’s funny to remember a world without cell phones, the internet and my annoyance of Matthew McConaughy.

Leave a Reply

