Posted on

To Kill a Mockingbird

Bekki Here:
I would marry Atticus Finch. Atticus Finch looking like Gregory Peck? Pure bonus.
I think he is the literary man with the most integrity that I’ve ever read, or seen in my DVD player.
I don’t think I could do this film justice. Mostly because it awakens such a sense of justice in me. Every time I watch it I want to be a better person. I want to be a person of courage and integrity.
Things I loved.
Scout. Could she have been better portrayed? I think not. I love her innocence and delight in life. Her outrage at things that are wrong, and her wholehearted rushing in, even when she’s being stupid. A highlight for me is when she broke up the lynch mob at the jail by just being herself. It was such a picture of innocence bringing light to the darkness, and making men remember themselves again.
When Atticus goes to tell Tom’s widow that she was, well, a widow, I always am so impressed. His compassion causes him to see people as people. Even the white man whose false accusation set the whole thing in motion. He really is a good man.
The only thing that didn’t really gel with me is Boo Radley. The actor playing him did his well, he’s just not like I saw him in my head.

I may just have to own this film.

Leave a Reply

